Skip Navigation
Body fade

About the Essex Police Memorial Trust

The Essex Police Memorial Trust commemorates officers who have served in the seven (non-Metropolitan) Police Forces which have covered the county since 1840. It was in that year that the Essex County Constabulary was established, Essex being one of the first county forces to be set up after the 1839 County Police Act. There were also four small police forces in the ancient boroughs of Saffron Walden, Harwich, Maldon and Colchester. Saffron Walden and Harwich were absorbed into Essex in 1857, Maldon in 1889 and Colchester in 1947.

In 1914 the newly formed County Borough of Southend-on-Sea set up its own police force which existed independently until 1969. In 1969 Southend-on-Sea Borough Police amalgamated with Essex to become the Essex and Southend-on-Sea Joint Constabulary; the title was shortened to Essex Police in 1974.

Can you help?

The Essex Police Memorial Trust is keen to find out as much as it can about the officers included on this website, and any details of those that may have been inadvertently missed. If you have any further information please contact us as detailed below.

Contact us

If you'd like to contact the Essex Police Memorial Trust you can e-mail us.

Our e-mail address is: [email protected]

Please include your postal address where relevant. You may also write to us at the following address:

The Secretary
Essex Police Memorial Trust
PO Box 2
Sandford Road

Go to top © 2020 Essex Police Memorial Trust

This website uses cookies. By using this website, you are accepting our cookies policy and consenting to cookies being used.

Share with: